Search Museum of the Moving Image


Marvels of Media is an ongoing initiative that showcases, celebrates, and supports autistic media-makers of all ages and skill sets. Throughout the year, autistic visitors will be given guidance and instruction and taught how to express themselves creatively and tell their stories through audiovisual storytelling techniques. These workshops will strengthen the socioemotional skills of autistic participants through puppetry for the screen, filmmaking, digital media, and animation activities. 

The Marvels of Media Festival is an opportunity to recognize the outstanding media work of autistic media-makers through film screenings and in-depth panel discussions. Young and emerging autistic media-makers will also have a chance to learn from industry-level and independent filmmakers on the spectrum through panel discussions, professional development sessions, and media workshops. The 2024 Marvels of Media Festival will take place from March 28 to 30, 2024. 

Click here to learn more about the 2024 Marvels of Media Festival.

Special thanks to this year’s Steering Committee of artists, spokespeople on the autism spectrum, and experts in the field who help to guide and produce this program:  

Miranda Lee, arts administrator, consultant, and educator 
Maylin Pavletic, writer/comedian
Jackson Tucker-Meyer, filmmaker and playwright 
Rosa Martínez, President and Founder of Strokes of Genius, Inc. 
Halenur Komsul, Work-Based Learning Specialist of Tech Kids Unlimited

This year, the Museum has established the Marvels of Media Advisory Council featuring industry leaders including media executive William J. Abbott; executive producer Rich Battista; neurodiversity advocate Wendy Belzberg; President of Landmark College Peter Eden; media executive David Epstein; actor and director Tony Goldwyn; producer Brian Grazer; media entrepreneur John Hendricks; President of the Jim Henson Foundation Cheryl Henson; Executive Director of New York State Council on the Arts Mara Manus; media executive Judy McGrath; CEO of CableLabs Phil McKinney; actor Sue Ann Pien; media executive Josh Sapan; journalist Paula Zahn; media entrepreneur Strauss Zelnick; and director Tony Spiridakis.  

Thank you to the 2024 Screening Committee for reviewing and rating this year’s festival selections: Tiffany Joy Butler, Louis Chesney, Miranda Lee, Rosa Martínez, Jackson Tucker-Meyer, Leonardo Santana-Zubieta, Maureen Thedford, and Taylor Diamond.

Special thanks to our partners: 

Exceptional Minds
Spectrum Laboratory
TechKids Unlimited
Strokes of Genius








Pictured in slideshow at top: 

  1. Guests at the opening of the Marvels of Media Exhibition. (2023) 
  2. Post-screening panel discussion with moderator Miranda Lee and filmmakers Samara Huckvale, Cody Fordham, and Alba Garcia. (2023) 

  3. Post-screening panel discussion with Mary Rhymer, Carrie Hawks and Alba Garcia. (2023) 

  4. Participant in Puppetry Workshop with WonderSpark Puppets. (2023)