Search Museum of the Moving Image


Annual Winter Moving Image Awards

Formerly the Gala Salute

The Winter Moving Image Awards honor the greatest artists and films of our current moment, highlighting the talent in front of the camera and behind the scenes of the year’s most accomplished and compelling titles.

This year's event, on December 4, 2023, will celebrate director Todd Haynes. Learn more and buy tickets.

Past Honorees include:

2022: Michael Abels, Kazuo Ishiguro, Laura Poitras, Sarah Polley

2021: Rita Moreno

2020: George C. Wolfe and Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

2019: Noah Baumbach and Marriage Story

2018: Glenn Close

2017: Annette Bening

2016: Warren Beatty

2015: Julianne Moore

2012: Hugh Jackman

2011: Alec Baldwin

2009: Clint Eastwood

2008: Ben Stiller

2007: Tom Cruise

2006: Will Smith

2005: Ron Howard

2004: John Travolta

2003: Billy Crystal

2002: Mel Gibson

2001: Julia Roberts

2000: Steve Martin

1999: Tom Hanks

1998: Dustin Hoffman

1997: Goldie Hawn

1996: Martin Scorsese

1995: Robin Williams

1994: Steven Spielberg

1993: Al Pacino

1992: Barbara Walters

1991: Robert De Niro

1990: Mike Nichols

1989: Sidney Poitier

1988: James Stewart

1986: Elia Kazan

1985: Sidney Lumet



Annual MoMI Spring Gala

Celebrating leaders in the entertainment industry each year, MoMI recognizes visionary minds from the top entertainment companies around the world.

Past Honorees include:

2019: NatGeo

2018: Dexter Goei (Altice) & Jake Tapper (CNN)

2017: Lester Holt (NBC News) & Roy Price (Amazon Studios)

2016: Seth Meyers (Host of Late Night with Seth Meyers) & Ted Sarandos (Chief Content Officer, Netflix)

2015: IATSE, SAG-AFTRA, International Brotherhood of Teamsters

2014: Richard Plepler (Chairman and CEO, HBO) & Charlie Rose (Anchor and Executive Editor of Charlie Rose and Co-Anchor of CBS This Morning)

2013: Abbe Raven (President and CEO, A+E Networks) & Thomas Rutledge (President and CEO, Charter Communications)

2012: Randy Falco (President and Chief Executive Officer, Univision Communications, Inc.) & George Kaufman (Chairman, Kaufman Astoria Studios and The Kaufman Organization) & Philippe Dauman (President and Chief Executive Officer, Viacom, Inc.)

2011: Brian Williams (Anchor and Managing Editor, NBC Nightly News) & Kenneth Lowe (Chairman, President, and CEO, Scripps Networks Interactive)

2010: Katie Couric (Anchor and Managing Editor, CBS Evening News with Katie Couric) & Phil Kent (President and CEO, Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.)

2009: Lorne Michaels (Creator and Executive Producer of Saturday Night Live) & Stanley S. Hubbard (Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer of Hubbard Broadcasting, Inc.)

2008: Matthew C. Blank (Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Showtime Networks) & James Schamus (Chief Executive Officer of Focus Features)

2007: Matt Lauer (Co-Anchor, Today on NBC) & Debra L. Lee (Chairman and CEO of BET Networks)

2006: George Bodenheimer (President, ESPN/ABC Sports & Co-Chairman, Disney Media Networks) & Stephen B. Burke (COO, Comcast Corporation & President, Comcast Cable)

2005: Jeffrey Bewkes (Chairman, Entertainment & Networks Groups of Time Warner, Inc.) & Leslie Moonves (Co-President and Co-Chief Operating Officer of Viacom)

2003:  Bob Wright (Chairman and CEO, NBC) & Jim Robbins (CEO, Cox Communications)

2002:  Steven Bochco (Steven Bochco Productions) & Glenn Britt (Chairman and CEO, Time Warner Cable)

2001: Judy McGrath (President, MTV Group and Chairman, Interactive Music) & Conan O’Brien (Host, Late Night with Conan O’Brien) & Jack Valenti (President and CEO, Motion Picture Association of America)

2000: Raymond E. Joslin (President, Hearst Entertainment & Syndication and Senior Vice President, The Hearst Corporation) & Jane Rosenthal (Co-Founder and Partner, Tribeca Productions)

1999:  Jane Pauley (Principal Anchor, Dateline NBC) & Robert Shaye (Chairman and CEO, New Line Cinema) & Michael Lynne (President and COO, New Line Cinema)

1998:  Charles Dolan (Founder and Chairman, Cablevision Systems Corp.) & Sir David Frost (Host, Talking with David Frost)

1997: Joe Roth (Former Chairman, Walt Disney Studios) & Tom Brokaw (Anchor and Managing Editor, NBC Nightly News with Tom Brokaw)

1996: Ted Turner (Founder, Cable News Network and Turner Network Television) & Mike Wallace (Host, 60 Minutes)

1995: Roone Arledge (Former President, ABC News) & Sherry Lansing (Chairman, Motion Pictures Group of Paramount Pictures)

1994: Frank Biondi (President and CEO, Viacom, Inc.) & Sir Howard Stringer (President, CBS/Broadcast Group)

1993: Tom Freston (Chairman and CEO, MTV Networks) & Nikolas Davatzes (President and CEO, A&E Television Networks)

1992: Charles Gwathmey (Gwathmey Siegel & Associates) & Robert Siegel (Gwathmey Siegel & Associates)

1991: Arthur R. Barron (Former Chairman of Time Warner Enterprises) & Herbert A. Granath (Senior Vice President of ABC, Inc.)