Search Museum of the Moving Image


Cinema Eye Honors 2015


The Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking, now in its eighth year, attracts the world’s top documentary filmmakers for an annual celebration at Museum of the Moving Image. Past presenters and recipients at Cinema Eye have included Chris Hegedus, Steve James, Barbara Kopple, Albert Maysles, Ross McElwee, Michael Moore, D.A. Pennebaker, and Frederick Wiseman. Top nominees this year include the Nick Cave documentary 20,000 Days on Earth by Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard, Laura Poitras’s CitizenFour, Steve James’s Life Itself, Jesse Moss’s The Overnighters, and Orlando Von Einsiedel’s Virunga. This year’s Legacy Award will be presented to Jennie Livingston for her landmark documentary Paris is Burning.

This event is sold out.  For more information, visit