Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please be advised: the Museum will be open on Wednesday, June 19, 12:00–6:00 p.m. for the Juneteenth holiday.


Cinema Eye Honors 2013


The Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking, now in its sixth year, attracts the world’s top documentary filmmakers for an annual celebration at the Museum. Past presenters/recipients at Cinema Eye have included Steve James, Barbara Kopple, Albert Maysles, Ross McElwee, Michael Moore, and Frederick Wiseman. Top nominees this year include Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady’s Detropia, Bart Layton’s The Imposter, Matthew Akers’s Marina Abramović The Artist is Present, Malik Bendjelloul’s Searching for Sugar Man and Jason Tippett and Elizabeth Mims’s Only the Young. This year’s Legacy Award will be presented to Chris Hegedus and D. A. Pennebaker for The War Room, their now-classic documentary about the 1992 Bill Clinton campaignFor more information, visit

Tickets: $75 public / $50 Museum members. Public tickets may be ordered online.  Members, please call 718 777 6800 to reserve tickets.